Day 4: A poem using the words: blue, mistrust, half, twang (Sorry, not a poem!)

Alright, another thing. I am terrible at poetry and I have no plans of doing any of the poetry challenges. Instead of a poem, I’ll be making short stories or blobs of things I can consider as “creative writing”. Moving on… today’s challenge!

Her blue eyes shined through the dreary grey that surrounded us. High school is a bitch. It’s the worst time to be awkward and a loner. She was one of them, the outcasts. The dull weather did not help the low feelings showing in her eyes. I observed her from afar because I was an awkward loner as well. It’s not that I was a stereotypical geek or nerd. I kept the athletic half of my high school life away from the spotlight and the academic half for all to see.

Enough about me.

Mistrust, it’s the one thing I’ve always seen in her eyes. I’ve always wondered why that was so. I learned she was a transfer student during our freshman year, but still two years later, she’s still alone and miserable. She walked along the halls like a ghost. No one ever noticed her or even pushed her aside. It was like she did not exist to anyone, except for me. I wanted to know her, but I was too afraid to talk to her.

It was after class and like everyday, my mind was focused on her. I went to the unused auditorium located at the far end of our school. I spent my afternoons there whenever the drama club had no productions to work on, which was not very often. It was one of my rare escapes. Luckily, someone left a guitar on the stage. It was one of my guilty pleasures. Only my family knew that I played the guitar. They were all too familiar with my fear of performing.

I held the guitar in my hands, feeling the smooth wood and the tight strings. I closed my eyes and started to play. In my mind, I could see her. Those blue eyes, the soft brown hair, and the delicate face were what filled my mind as I listed to the twang of each guitar string I plucked.

As my fingers slowly came to a stop, the images of her faded away into black. I was left with my own thoughts and the guitar in my hands. I felt the longing for her. It was driving me mad, but my own fears and insecurities held me back. I sighed, opening my eyes and putting the guitar back where I found it.

“That was beautiful.”

I turned around with a snap, not expecting anyone to be in here, but I relaxed when I was met with a familiar pair of blue eyes. The blue eyes I’ve longed for so long.

I hope this was acceptable for my challenge entry for the day!

Be inspired!

 

#anotheraspiringwriter

Leave a Reply

