Why am I re-blogging a post like this? Well, as I was writing today, I came to the chilling event of killing off a character that is important to my protagonist. It was not easy for me since it was my first time to write a scene like that. I haven’t reached the point in my other projects where I have to kill off someone from the good side.

There were a couple problems I faced. First was if I timed it right because if it was too soon then it could screw up the whole story. Second problem was if I did the scene justice. Did it go too fast or did it have way too many details? Does a reader want to read about how much blood gushed out of the wound as the evil man plunges a dagger right into the sidekick’s heart? The third problem was if the emotion was real. Will it have the same chilling and shaking effect on the reader as it did for me? Or did I just feel that because I have an emotional connection to the novels I write.

Well, whatever happens to what I’m working on I know I’ll get better and I believe my fellow novice writers will get better as well. Always try to inspire and be inspired.

#anotheraspiringwriter

 

This is something every author has to deal with at some point, especially in a series. When do you decide to kill off a character? And why? And also, how do you justify it to the reader? As both an author and a reader, I have been saddened and/or disappointed by the death of a character. I have also welcomed it in some cases.

One of my books (I won’t say which b/c I don’t want to spoil for future readers) felt like something was missing while I was writing it. Then it came to me. A certain character had to die for it all to come together. So I scrapped a large chunk of the book and began rewriting to make it work. When the time came for the axe to fall on that particular character, it was really hard to let it happen. I felt like I…

View original post 228 more words

Leave a Reply

