A Month of Chills and Thrills.

Sounds a lot like October, right?

Well, not in my mind, because in my part of the world it is really cold. It’s like the Winter kind of cold minus the snow. It’s usually cold here all year round, but it gets even colder around this time. That explains the chills part of this title.

What about the thrills?

Well, the Winter Solstice is coming up and the perceived end of the world is upon us. The hype has been built up and we can say a good bunch of the population is at wit’s end with what could possibly happen to the world. (Sounds like a short story challenge?) This might drum up some stories or possibly new novel ideas (for those who love to work on post-apocalyptic themed stories) for us writers. The sense of doom brings about a flurry of ideas, like how one child can save the world, or how a vengeful being has brought this fate upon us all, or even how a whole bunch of people planned this out to create one of the most complex pranks in history.

Another (possible) thrill is the holiday season. Why do I say possible? Well, that’s because here in the Philippines, we celebrate the longest Christmas possible and I mean long. People here are already thinking about Christmas as soon as September rolls in. I don’t really get into that spirit considering I grew up anticipating many other holidays before Christmas, like Halloween and Thanksgiving. I can’t contradict culture, because that’s what it is. I’m just not used to celebrating the Christmas season for 3-4 months. I think I can say I’m a bit tired of the Christmas hype already.

But, I’m liking this snow feature on WordPress. Haha.

Let the holidays and possible doomsday inspire you all!

 

#anotheraspiringwriter

Leave a Reply

