Lessons from a TV Show.

“No one’s judging your flaws, except you.”

~Will Collins from Emily Owens, MD (Season 1, Episode 7)

“It’s hard trying not to judge yourself, because we are aware of  every mistake. We know our inner doubts, our hidden motivations, our failings. So my wish for next year is to be easier on myself, focus less on the bad and more on the good, really, just give myself a break.”

~Emily Owens from Emily Owens, MD (Season 1, Episode 7)

Well, we face a time (or a couple of times) in our lives where we tend to always doubt our capabilities and sit in fear because we see ourselves as too flawed to make something great. A few days ago, I wrote a post about fear and doubt. Lo and behold, I come across an episode of one of my new favorite shows that talks about that. I wonder if I’ll experience that kind of fear and doubt when I get the chance to start my education in medicine. But with that aside, I wonder about how often writers (professional and novice) end up doubting their work.

Some of you are thinking that the answer to that is painfully obvious.  All writers doubt their work at certain points and it’s their level of confidence that may affect how often they feel that doubt. Like it said in the show, we have to go easy on ourselves.

This post was pretty… blah. Haha.

Well, inspire, be inspired, and take it easy!

 

#anotheraspiringwriter

Leave a Reply

