Is This The Push I Need?

According to many blogs and their website, Spencer Hill Press is going to be open to submissions for the whole month of December. I have also been looking around to see other places that accept unsolicited or unagented queries, especially international queries. Well, I’ve seen some promising ones.

Now that I have the push, here is what’s making me hang onto the diving board for dear life…

I started writing query letters, well, drafts of them. I feel silly and at times bored with what I’ve written. I am struggling to finish a few drafts and see what sounds more interesting. I also am afraid, again, from my lack of writing credits. I’ve been told months back that it would not matter because it’s the writing that counts. I’m still holding onto that thought.

I was just wondering…

Is it in any way or completely embarrassing that I have one complete manuscript in the three to four years I’ve been writing seriously? I feel, what’s the word… inadequate as a writer? I have plenty of perfectly good reasons why my manuscript count is so low, but I know many people hate reasons or excuses.

I’m really trying to push myself.

I will make a query this month and I will get a response for it! (I say that with all the optimism and enthusiasm.) Don’t worry, I’m not saying I’ll get rejected or accepted. Any response for my query would put me over the moon. It would be a great first step as a writer.

Inspire and get inspired!

 

#anotheraspiringwriter

Leave a Reply

