It’s a Matter of Perspective

Well, all month long I would cringe at the thought that I would be saying this, but I am here to say it after all… I won’t be finishing my NaNoWriMo entry. *Feign Chest Pains*

Why?

I just got hit by a writer’s block or maybe a writer’s boulder, but even though it feels disappointing I don’t feel too bummed. Like Jodie commented on my last post, even if I don’t make it to 50,000 I’ll still have a lot written down. I can say I never wrote 26,700 words in less than three weeks which is a big leap for me. (Thank you Jodie for planting that wonderful thought in my mind.)

Another reason why I could not accomplish my task of writing down 50,000 words is that I had classes to think about, which may have cheered on my writer’s block. I tend to worry about future requirements and get myself all worked up. I don’t mind this because as soon as I finish the requirements, I end up writing like crazy.

I know how everyone in NaNoWriMo is part of a region and you get to connect with others like you, but I had a lot of trouble connecting. I felt very intimidated at how experienced and accustomed everyone was with each other. My shy side decided to may itself dominant and let me hide in the shadows. Checking out the page for my region and the Facebook page they have, I had the very strong urge to post or make myself known, but I always chickened out at the last second. (It was that and after the fact I didn’t get any replies from a thread I made after a couple of days, which sort of scared me off.)

I have one final reason, which is that my dear mother loved the idea of making home-made holiday decorations based on the “origami” star I made. I’m not sure if it was a mistake showing it to her, but we had fun making (and still making) a whole bunch of stars of different sizes and colors. (I’ll put up pictures of them soon)

Now, I guess I’m not upset. Being a newbie at NaNoWriMo, this was a new experience for me. I salute those who have already won and are still fighting to get there. I’m not giving up, I’m just saying next year will be something for me. I may have not won, but I am a proud NaNoWriMo participant. I’ll have a year to improve myself.

Be inspired and inspire others!

#anotheraspiringwriter

One thought on “It’s a Matter of Perspective

  1. ericjbaker says:

    I like to buzz over the writing blogs every few days, and I’ve already seen about 5 today that said the same thing as yours: Didn’t quite make it to 50K.

    No worries. I’m sure more people don’t finish than do.

Leave a Reply

