The Paths to Anywhere.

I wake up dazed and bleary. For a second, I thought I was in my house, but that second already passed. I actually don’t know where I am. It’s hard to describe this place I’m in. I don’t know where I am. Everything changes each second I spend looking around. I wobble as  I try to right my feet. The ground looks unstable, but it feels sturdy under my shaky feet. Each step I take feels agonizingly slow and heavy. I come across a fork in the road. Both paths look plain and normal, but also deadly and deceiving.

“Lost?”

“Who are you?”

“No one important.”

“Then why are you here?”

“No reason. The question is, why are you here?”

“I don’t know. I woke up here and I don’t know where to go.”

“You have two paths before you. One will lead you to your memories, but it is filled with perils. The other will lead you to a new life, but the obstacles you will face are petty. Which do you wish to take?”

The hooded figure stands before me, waiting. I try and try to think, but every thought I have is clouded and murky. I know I ache to find my memories and learn why I’m here, but my whole body convulses, desiring to take the easy path to a new life. I do not know if I’m willing to forget everything just to make an escape from my path.

“Well?”

“I’m still thinking.”

“That’s fine. We’ve got enough time.”

“How much time?”

“Your lifetime.”

“Who are you?”

“Will knowing who I am, help you to choose?”

“I guess so.”

“I am Death.”

“Why are you here at the beginning of a possibly new life when you’re supposed to be at the end?”

“I never wait at the end. I like to watch how people make all the decisions leading up to their departure from life. I don’t take their souls, I watch them leave their earthly form and join me.”

“You don’t cause death?”

“No, I watch it happen. I help people make decisions, but it’s their choices that lead them to the end of their lives.”

“Now, you’re helping me.”

“Either path will lead you to death.”

“And if I stay here at this one point?”

“I can wait for your death. I can be anywhere and everywhere at one time.”

“I still don’t know which path to take.”

“Do you want the easy life or the hard one?”

“Anyone would choose the easy life.”

“Yes, of course.”

I look down both paths and start to see the reality of it all. The left path points to my past and my memories, while the other leads me to something totally different, a possibly happier life. If I had a good life, maybe I would not have forgotten my past. Now that I’m given the chance to take back the past, I’m not sure if I want it.

“So…”

“I’ve made my choice.”

“That is wonderful. I must let you know two things.”

“What?”

“First, as soon as you take a step towards whichever path you choose, it is final and you will instantly be taken to the life you choose.”

“And the second?”

“You’ll know when you’ve taken the step.”

I nod and take a deep breath. My hands shake and my feet wobble as I move. I take the step to the right. A gust blows around me, blocking my sight. I close my eyes and hear a voice in my head.

“Second, I lied, there is no easy life.”

 

Well, I finally got to updating my blog! This draft has been sitting unfinished for weeks. I’m glad I got to update this. Wow. I’ve missed blogging a lot. I have been feeling a lot of stress lately and it has and has not been helping my writing. My responsibilities with school are not helping that much as well.

I keep realizing that once you are dedicated to something, you will find a way around everything and do it. I found my way around it and here I am doing what I love, writing.

About my little story, I’ll just let you see how you wish to see it. I can be about hope, change, despair, or whatever your mind comes to understand. As a writer, I learned you cannot push your point of view into the minds of your readers. You just have to let them understand your creations the way they want to. You will be less stressed out trying to win them over and they can be happy with how your work makes them feel.

Never stop making art. Even if you don’t have the time, do it in small ways.

Be inspired! Inspire others!

 

#anotheraspiringwriter

 

Leave a Reply

