What Charlie, Jacob, and Hadley Taught Me.

You might be wondering if I actually know people with these names, but to my misfortune I do not. These are characters from three books I managed to read in the two weeks I was recuperating from my recent minor surgery. Even as a bookworm, I never expected to read two out of three of these books, but yes, I was able to do it. I don’t regret reading them because they were very enjoyable.

Do you guys have any guess to what books I’ve recently read?

Well, here they are…

  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
  2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  3. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

I will do my best to make book reviews on these three during the week and maybe up to next week. It’s my first day of class (again) and I’m gonna have my hands full again. I know I promised before to make a film review of The Hunger Games, but I guess I don’t have much experience with critiquing films, since I’m not much of movie-goer or not that much of an enthusiastic and critical one.

I’ve been feeling better as each day passes and my creativity is on the prowl once more. I’m still working on my second manuscript and my contest entry, which I feel is going good. I hope to get a lot of writing done, despite the hectic school work heading my way.

I’m still very lost on making my queries and synopses. I start, but then I suddenly feel extremely uncomfortable. The kind of feeling you get when you’re in front of a crowd of people and you have to deliver an impromptu speech with your mind completely blank. I know, it’s very silly, but I don’t really have anyone nearby with experience to give me a shove. Reading how to make those things is easy, but doing it yourself is like trying to drive without any lessons or going somewhere without directions. Yes, I’m apparently that lost. Writing the story is always the fun part, but getting it off the ground is something else.

I’m not chickening out of my dream to be a writer, but I guess I’m at a rough patch. I just need to vent for a while. It makes me nervous. I’m still young (just turned 21 two weeks ago) and I have a lot of chances to do this. I won’t let this slip away.

This is the first post I’ve made in an internet cafe, since I make my posts at home.

Be inspired to make art and make a change!

 

#anotheraspiringwriter

Leave a Reply

