Noise.

The dim light provided just enough brightness for me to read a book that I just couldn’t put down. I was reaching its dramatic climax when I felt something stir downstairs. A noise echoed in the halls and through the door to my room. It sounded like it came from the kitchen. I was home alone since my parents were on a business trip and I wasn’t expecting anyone to come over.

I slowly got out of bed and padded through the halls. I didn’t know what to expect as I stepped cautiously down the staircase. Some loud bangs and the sound of someone rummaging reached my ears and I hoped for the worst.

I opened the lights in the kitchen and saw a complete mess. Food and other things were scattered on the floor, but no one was there to be the perpetrator. I took a look around, but still didn’t see anyone, except for one thing…

 

…a little wagging tail.

 

**I don’t know why I came up with this, but it had to be written down.

May your days be filled with inspiration.

Let’s write, write, write! 🙂

 

 

#anotheraspiringwriter

2 thoughts on “Noise.

  1. Subhakar Das says:

    I expected a thief or someone from the family raiding the fridge…not a wagging tail. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

