I’ve got a couple questions… I think…

Well, I know I said before that I was working on a novel series. Now, I’ve reached some bumps in the road. Here comes the questions…

  1. Would it be advisable to keep the readers updated (like really updated) on the months and days in the story or would it just make things appear complicated?
  2. Can anyone give me some tips on how I should be using “tomorrow,” “the following/next day,” “later that night,” and the like?
  3. If in my first book, I was a bit meticulous with the month and days, is it okay I skip some months in the sequel or will it appear like I’m rushing things?

NOTE: I do not use “journal entries” or “date headers (or whatever they’re supposed to be called)” in my book/manuscript.

I apologize for all the questions, but I’m having trouble finding the right reference book for writing (in my part of the world), so I’m turning to all the rising and experienced writers/authors for some tips. Thank you so much! Please comment if you can.

#anotheraspiringwriter

2 thoughts on “I’ve got a couple questions… I think…

  1. Tahirih says:

    as a writer, there are alot of questions that you wanted an answer but as you go through your journey in looking for those answers you may find a better perspective and a better view to be able to answer your question. For me as a reader, it is better to start maybe yearly in a way that you have lee- way to think, imagine,etc. in putting your thoughts in order then as time goes by when you are already used to it and getting comfortable with your deadlines you may go to the next step like do it monthly, days, etc.
    The thing that is important is the story that you want portray and how you will touch the lives of every reader in your story..

  2. Elven Sribe says:

    1. I don’t know that would make things complicated but if the story is of great length it might make it tedious. If there are gaps like months.. include it in the dialogue or describe it in the setting… for example. (Last month when I was here with my mother we stopped and got an ice-cream at Jr’s. or Eric looked through the slit in the curtain and breathed a sigh of relief at the blues and purples of the sunrise, they had survived another night.)

    2. Using the “tomorrow, next day” is good in a small amount but again it becomes tedious to both you and the reader. One because you as the writer know there is a better way to lead into the scene. And for the reader they have to break from the journey. It is kind of like putting a period in the middle of the sentence. Like the first answer let the story tell the reader what time or day it is. Bells on a clock tower announcing the time, a rooster crowing to set the day, Lunch being served at the restaurant down the street.

    3. I have not read too many books that state dates in them but one that can think of recently is the Twilight saga. In the first book the writer used Months as headers in sections ( or I should say that the month was the only thing on that page) for time that nothing happened but nowhere else. So I think you would be okay with limiting your dates.

Leave a Reply

