Happy Birthday!

Well, no, it’s not my birthday, which is three months away. Today is the birthday of one of my dearest friends. She’s been a sister to me since my last year of high school and she’s never let me down. This post is dedicated to her.

How did we meet?

It was the first day of my senior year in high school and I made it into the honor’s program, which definitely scared me to death. I knew very few people in the new (for me) class, since they’ve been together in the program since freshman year. I was being my shy (yes, that’s right) and quiet self, when an outgoing girl approaches me and we just talk for a bit. In an instant, she was acting like a big sister to me. She helped me ease into the new class and it was the best year of high school for me.

We have a lot of interests in common (like writing, reading books, but not so much on the manga… she’s the one crazy about it) and we’re both very insane. Our normal conversations, especially when we miss each other, consist of sarcastic comments and insults, but we never really hurt each other. After high school, I had to move away for college, but that didn’t stop us from keeping in touch.

About three or four years ago, I began to show her some of my work and failed drafts. She kept (and still does) telling me to just keep at it, directly or indirectly. I guess I can say she’s one of my biggest fans and I’m hers. She’s the sister I wish I had and she’ll always be it for me.

Happy Birthday, Sis. I love yah! Hope to see you when we both get the chance.

 

#anotheraspiringwriter

Leave a Reply

